Sunday, August 2, 2009

Boys are Gross cuz Mud is Fun

I am often grateful that I have 3 boys....usually when Hayley is being a such girl. I like that the boys cost less and never "need" new clothes or more shoes and they never say "I hate you I wish I had a different Mother". But then there are days like this one when I realize boys are just gross. Why they do and like such disguising things will always be a mystery to me.

We have had a very very rainy summer. The pool has only been used a handful of times and it has been cold and icky. Today was nice and warm but everything was still wet from all the rain. Connor (who is always the one to spearhead such operations) decided it was a good idea to go down the slide; which of course had a puddle at the bottom. Well Riley saw that and of course had to follow suit!
Connor then decided it would be a good idea to take the bin full of rainwater and pour it down the slide to make it slippery; also make yet more mud at the bottom! They took turns going down the slide splashing in the mud until the puddle was almost splashed away and then guess what? They filled the bin with water and started all over again!
This went on forever, at first I resisted but I have learned it's just easier to let it go!

When I asked them why they were doing this they simply replied "cuz mud is fun!" How could I argue with that.

I did however require hosing off before entering the house.

***Note the bin in the wagon...that's how they got a full bin of water to the slide...the wagon...these boys are way to smart for their own good!